#52artworksin52weeks

People who have met me know I’m not exactly fond of social media, but the appeal of Instagram is its dedication to the visual and minimal words. Given that I’m not exactly a gifted wordsmith, I’m all for it. This year I thought I’d give Instagram a decent chance. And by decent chance I mean no more unfocused, badly-cropped pictures and half-assed captions. I would post sharp, nicely-cropped, squared-up paintings, make engaging captions, and even work in some clever hashtags. (Ha.) To dig a deeper hole, I vowed to post frequently, thus creating #52artworksin52weeks.

So far I’m up to #06of52, which happens to be this. Parents, I’m sure you’re all familiar with that look on her face!

 

And mind-bogglingly, #01of52 happens to be the most popular. Really. And it occurred to me: am I in the right genre? Should I be painting more animal portraits, less landscapes? More bichons, less barns? Someone thinks so. (Still waiting for AWS, TWSA, NWS, and CAC on their input…)

 

Last year, people were really drawn to these San Luis Obispo county landscapes. Central California is gorgeous, isn’t it? I’ve been thinking of doing a local workshop here… Watercolors and Wine. Or should it be Wine and Watercolors?

 

Finally, this city scene from Florence brings back some good memories… I conducted workshops in Tuscany in 2013 and 2015, and will be back again this year.

 

If you’re on Instagram, please drop by and say Hello! Hold my feet to the fire and make sure I get to #52of52! (And thanks for all your support.)

9 thoughts on “#52artworksin52weeks

  1. pam barker

    Hi Frank!
    Just wanted to let you know that none of the images came through on your latest blog.
    Hope you guys are well and surviving this crazy winter!
    Pam

    Sent from my iPad

    1. frankeber Post author

      Pam, all the images are there. It takes a while because WordPress servers are connecting to a third party server, which is Instagram. Please wait a few minutes; it should work!

      1. Pam Barker

        Weird but the images just never appear,at least on my iPhone, or iPad. The only way I can access the images is by clicking on the title of the painting and then it shows up. I love the painting of Archer! He does well as a live model!

      2. frankeber Post author

        MJ double checked everything. It definitely works, must be on your end. I bet if you installed Instagram it wouldn’t do that. Yes, I only painted Archer once so far but there’s a lot of pressure for another one…;)

  2. Nel

    pictures show up better on fb than on instagram. they are larger on fb. people don’t like to wait for images to show up.. I like reading the stories that go with paintings and the artist telling how they were accomplished.

    1. frankeber Post author

      When I post an image on FB, the image lives on FB’s servers. In any instance where images reside on a third-party server, there will be some kind of delay accessing an image.

      When you say they “show up better”, that’s the larger, physical size that makes for a crisper image. The larger sizes are also for the benefit of people with a high-resolution / Retina display.

  3. Roger Barker

    Hey Frank
    Love those central coast scenes. I’m in for a workshop over there anytime, it sounds like fun if you have some refuge if needed. Say Hi to MJ and what’s a hashtag? Roger

    1. frankeber Post author

      Good to hear from you, Roger! Yes, i am planning something in my area for 2018 or 19. There are some great painting spots around here! It was one of the reasons I moved to the central coast area.

Comments are closed.