A week in La Crosse, WI

Thanks again to Bob Witte (http://wittesendstudio.blogspot.com/)
for inviting me to teach a workshop in La Crosse!

On the short flight from Chicago to La Crosse I flew over the most scenic, rolling hills you can imagine, littered with working dairy farms. I knew I was in for a treat!
La Crosse did not disappoint and I can genuinely say that I loved the area! It reminded me so much of Bavaria Germany, minus the buildings, of course.

If you’re not familiar with LC, I highly recommend a visit. Expecting midwestern flatness, I was quite surprised to encounter the most beautiful landscape with endless subject matter to paint!
More paintings in the next blogpost!

The workshop went really well and we all created some interesting paintings. Credit for the photos I posted goes to Dave Bass, photographer and proprietor of the SG1311 Gallery in La Crosse (http://www.sg1311.blogspot.com/)

Have a look at his excellent work here http://www.dbassphoto.com/
Thank you, Dave!

7 thoughts on “A week in La Crosse, WI

    1. frankeber Post author

      I was surprised as well. You’d love it too, lots of horse farms and rolling hills. No mid western flatness there! Will post more paintings soon…thank you for your visit!

      1. aHorseForElinor

        Sounds like a place for me! At the end of summer (which is STILL going on here) I’m always desperate to move, leave, get out of here and this awful heat. Looking at new options sounds tempting. But then, it’s hard to beat the easy Northern California winter… And we stay…

      2. frankeber Post author

        I know what you mean, the winters here are amazing. In the mid west? Too harsh and too long, we might as well go back to the country we came from..

  1. Vianna Szabo

    It was a great workshop, Frank! Lots of good information and beautiful demos of a beautiful area. I have been busy abusing calligraphy brushes and having a very good time practicing all that I learned. Thanks again!

Comments are closed.