Studio set-up

P1050051  P1050050  P1050049

P1050048  P1050047  the mode of transportation

My studio and workstation are pretty straight forward: Good light, great easel, but unfortunately, not enough space on my workstation! I really need to extend the table top all across the room, so I can have multiple workstations (at least two, preferably three) and more importantly, room for all the brushes. I hate looking for a certain brush in the middle of the painting and not finding it! Putting them in jars is not working for me.

A word about the easel: I had to slightly modify it to fit my needs. It needed a wider support piece on the bottom to put the painting surface on. It kept falling off, since the manufacturer only mounted a very narrow dowel there. But it was an easy fix and I love it now! I have three different table easels, one I made myself.

My palette is by Holbein. I have a few of these and they come in different sizes with large mixing wells that have a nice, high divider to prevent overspill into the neighboring well. Most cheap palettes don’t feature that important detail. Holbein makes excellent products.

Many of my brushes are made by JAX, Da Vinci and Escoda. Escoda has the best synthetic pointy brushes that never seem to go blunt! My favorites are Prado and Barocco. Unfortunately, it’s a bit of a challenge to get them in the US.

Lastly, my painting surface is a plastic sheet that I buy at Home Depot. It’s called ‘Coroplast’ and works really well. The other solution I recommend is driving around your neighborhood and stealing those signs that endorse politicians or certain parties in people’s front yards. They are made of the same material! ~~~ I am kidding, of course!

The first picture is just my ‘office’ with my computer and printer

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Studio set-up

  1. Leslie Mark

    Hi Frank, Don’t know if you remember me but I live in Cambria and took your Paso workshop in January (maybe you’ll recall that I’m the one who produced the most bad paintings 🙂 ). None the less I persevere and even feel somewhat encouraged at times. Anyway, I have a friend who is going to Paris soon and I remember you mentioned that there are brushes that you buy when you go home. I’d like to impose on her and ask her to pick up some for me, do you have any suggestions? The hills have been beautiful now that they show a hint of green, not like the emerald of a normal winter but still welcome…lots of dramatic surf too…I have yet to do it justice but maybe a new brush is what I need! Best to you, Leslie Mark

    >

    1. frankeber Post author

      Have her look for squirrel mop brushes! There are many manufacturers that make them. When in Europe, I’d definitely try to get Escoda, Isabey or Jax. Thanks for your visit, Leslie!

  2. croquedessin

    Thanks for all these informations Frank. I just begin with watercolour. I’m suprised you’re painting on an easel, inclined at 45° ? Your technique is well wet on wet ? I never heard about the brushes Prado and Barocco, are they coming from Europe ? Thanks in advance for your answer and have a nice day !

    1. frankeber Post author

      Chris, some Escoda brushes can be bought at Dick Blick and Cheap Joe’s, it’s a Spanish company out of Barcelona. Thank you for your visit!

  3. ymucci

    Had the pleasure of viewing “After the Ride” painting in person at The Salmagundi Club in NYC yesterday. Just beautiful! The exhibition is amazing as always. Congratulations.

Comments are closed.