I dream of sheep..

I Dream of Sheep by Frank Eber

I Dream of Sheep by Frank Eber

This was a scene I came upon one early morning on the way to Domme in France. I drove around a corner and couldn’t believe what I saw: this lovely farm, the meadow with the sheep and to top it all off, a perfect painting spot slightly above with excellent views! Oh, and did I mention nice, soft, diffused light, no car traffic and perfect silence? It only happened once on this trip! In fact I don’t even recall if I ever encountered a scene so serene. I hardly had to make up or change anything. The only thing I have changed is the background. In reality, it was just too strong in value.

The mood of a painting is achieved by playing with both color and value. This painting may have a subdued quality to it, but it compliments the mood and feel I wanted to convey.

“I dream of sheep”
Media: original watercolor on paper
Image size: approx. 14″x20″
Unframed/ matted
SOLD

4 thoughts on “I dream of sheep..

  1. cathy belleville

    This is really lovely. Your tree work in the background is inspiring–so loose and yet so perfect. You caught the atmosphere really nicely.

    1. frankeber Post author

      Thank you so much, Cathy! Appreciate that. I pushed that part back a lot, in reality it was pretty strong and WAY too green. Great comment, thanks again!

Comments are closed.