Plein air in Austin, Texas

I was teaching a workshop last week at the wonderful Waterloo Watercolor group in Austin, TX. After the workshop was done at the end of the week, I was lucky enough to have had the chance to paint in this great city.
I was joined by a few artist colleges and we headed out to paint scenes by the lake and downtown. Naturally, after the weather was sunny all week the day we went outside turned out to be a bit dull and drab. Earlier in the morning the light was much better and  my scene with a rower and downtown Austin in the background turned out pretty nice.

Austin is a great city and everyone at the WWC group did their best to make me feel welcome. I’d like to especially thank Michele  and Marshal Missner, Eileen Pestorius, Kim and Gerry Hoerster, Anne and Barbara and Chuck Wallace for taking care of me in the best possible way. You all rock!

Austin lake, plein air by frankeber 2013

Austin lake, plein air by frankeber 2013

Austin plein air, Victorian by frankeber 2013

Austin plein air, Victorian by frankeber 2013

6 thoughts on “Plein air in Austin, Texas

  1. Carol King

    Your Austin Lake is fantastic! I love the limited palette and how you painting the buildings. I have to stop by Salmagundi and see your painting. Still haven’t done that yet.

    1. frankeber Post author

      Glad you like my painting, Carol! Unfortunately, I couldn’t make it to NY this time but maybe next year, if I make it in again. Thanks for visiting, my dear friend!!

  2. Carol King

    Hi Frank, got to Salmagundi yesterday to see the watercolor show. I spotted your beautiful painting immediately! It stands out as one of the best (to me) along with other really wonderful paintings. I’m glad I got to see it.

    1. frankeber Post author

      How cool, Carol! Thanks for taking the time to go there. I wish I could’ve gone also and met you!! Maybe next year, if I make it in!
      Thanks so much, I am glad you had a great time!

Comments are closed.