Adventures in plein air painting, Part 2

Prague_pleinair1, by frank eber 2012 Prague_pleinair2, by frank eber 2012 Prague_pleinair3, by frankeber2012

In the last two weeks, I have painted on location in Prague, Dresden and Nuremberg.

This blog post is about comments that you get while painting outside. I don’t know what the motivation is for someone to comment on what an artist is doing, but I find it quite fascinating. I think this morning, I had one of the best ones yet–therefore it is time to put them down in writing!

While painting in Prague: (no particular order)

“Excuse me, do you know where the post office is?”
“I am looking for a pub where they serve ‘black beer’, do you know it?”

While painting in Dresden:

“Can we auction this off once you’re done?”
“Are you from here?”

While painting in Nuremberg:

“Do you think I can park here?” (The guy even made me take my ear buds out.)

and the best one yet:
“Did you paint this from a photograph?” (Remember, this is on location, looking at the subject matter right in front of us.)

Random Comments (Can’t remember the location.)(Not everyone is a moron, right?)

“This is lovely.”
“Did you paint this?” (I am still working on it.)
“I can only paint by numbers.”
“I stopped doing watercolors, now I do mixed media.”
“Did you make this paper yourself?”

And lastly, my favorite by elderly Germans, after looking at the piece and watching me for a while:

“Hmmmpf.”

Let’s see what happens in France…

16 thoughts on “Adventures in plein air painting, Part 2

  1. lesliepaints

    Hi Frank,
    I have decided people don’t really know what to say but really are interested in seeing what the painter is doing. I like the ones that stop, who are not going to or from a job or other responsibilities, and sit down and chat for a while.
    Your paintings, above are great. I especially like the middle one.
    Received my Watercolor Artist Magazine in the mail the other day. 🙂 Congratulations! Excellent article!

    1. frankeber Post author

      Hi Leslie,

      I don’t mind the ones that stop and are really interested. It seems I mostly get the ones who have no idea, yet for some reason they feel compelled to say something, anything…It’s all good, it is what it is..while working you only hear/ see them at the periphery of your senses, so it’s not really a bother! Thank you for your continuing stops here, Leslie!

  2. Carol King

    See, that is exactly why I don’t go outside to paint. and you know my feelings about outside. And I bet New Yorkers would not be as nice as these folks even though they did sound quite clueless. I am VERY JEALOUS of your painting trip. Of course maybe if I was in Dresden I would painting outside.

    Wonderful paintings. I also posted that I saw your painting of France in the Salmagundi Club Watercolor show. It looked FANTASTIC. Even better in person. I quietly congratulated myself that I knew you (in an internet sort of way)

    1. frankeber Post author

      Carol, you are so funny! Love reading your comments…
      I know, I know..I have to come to NY! I am working on it. I did meet the president of AWS recently, maybe that’ll help. I am definitely not very well known on the east coast of the US.
      I am currently back in France. Again, thanks for going to the Salmagundi Club. It is a great show, isn’t it! You will always be a special friend, Carol…I think you were one of the first people to ever leave a comment on my blog!
      Thanks for your friendship (albeit only via internet right now)

  3. Kathleen Ballard

    I really got a laugh out of your passerbys comments on you painting outdoors! I would have also liked to see your responses! With some of those statements and questions, I just don’t know what you could have said!
    It sounds like you are having a nice trip painting!

    1. frankeber Post author

      So true, Kathleen! Sometimes it’s hard to find a response and I just look at them…thanks for the comment and Happy painting!

  4. Joan

    Frank checked out SCL art supply email and looked at your work. I am so impressed. I love the feel of your work,even though I am usually an oils fan. Do you sell your paintings? Can’t find any sites that sell it.

    1. frankeber Post author

      Dear Joan,

      I do sell, mostly from my website (www.frankeber.com) If you see a painting you like, please contact me and I can give you prices etc. Thank you for the visit and your interest in my art! Makes me happy that you like my work!

  5. Tomas Honz

    Haha, some quotes are quite funny. And I like that you visited Prague and painted there. We have to do some plein air together next time you stop by here.
    Cheers

Comments are closed.