San Clemente Workshop June 4 & 5, 2011

I am happy to report that my workshop last weekend was a success! We had 10 people for the first day and 9 on the second; one person opted to only do one day. I was very fortunate to get such a mellow group, all of them were really nice, there to learn, paint and absorb as much as possible. I couldn’t have been any luckier!

 

Thanks to Patti and Melissa of San Clemente Art Supply for all the hard work and providing such an inspiring atmosphere to do a workshop in, not to mention the fruit, coffee, juice and homemade (!) cookies! The store actually has a little garden area and is located in the most beautiful town with a view onto the ocean. It is a very special place and if you’re ever in the area I urge you to go check it out!

I decided to just incorporate this wonderful street view into my workshop on Sunday. It was a good way to get people used to being outside, sketching and making decisions on the fly. After all the sketches were complete, we moved back into the building to do the painting.

san_clemente_street-view, 2011 by frankeber

This street scene was particularly useful for teaching tonal value and creating distance in a painting. The small tower of the old movie theater serves as a nice backdrop. All we had to do is put some people and cars and the ocean as a background and voilá, there’s a painting! Being at a certain location to paint can really make a difference in our work. Something of the energy of the place will be transposed into the painting!

Everybody was very pleased to get such a vast amount of information and one woman said she hopes I could come on a regular basis and teach there. I would certainly be honored to come back to such a beautiful place and do more workshops and classes. Being in San Clemente feels like being on vacation, work or not… Thanks to all of my students for taking my workshop and making it easy for me. I appreciate every one of you!!

4 thoughts on “San Clemente Workshop June 4 & 5, 2011

  1. Carol King

    If I lived in CA I would surely have taken your workshop. Your students look like they are working very diligently and I’m sure they learned a lot.

    1. frankeber Post author

      Thank you, Carol. I’d be honored! I sure would like to come your way and paint in NYC some day. I’l let you know when that happens. Everybody in this workshop enjoyed their time and they did some nice work.

Comments are closed.