“A cold morning”- street scene

A _cold_ morning, 2011 by frankeber

A Cold Morning, 2011 ::: Watercolor on paper
Posted in the California, USA gallery

I was trying to convey that feel of cold air on an early morning street: not necessarily freezing cold, but cold enough so you’d want to wear your jacket. What really makes this piece is the glow of the early sun on the buildings in the background.

It was a two-step process to paint this scene. The first and most important step is to paint the color of the sky starting with a light cobalt blue and slowly warming it up towards the horizon line. At the foot of the buildings the gradated wash was almost an orange. I was careful to paint around the cars and leaved some white as highlights.
The second wash takes care of the buildings, the figures and the cars. Please note that I wasn’t very careful with the background buildings and any sort of detail on the cars and people. However, I was very careful to make sure all the shapes are connected in some way. It is imperative to do that and will give your work a unified, strong look. The people on the left are connected to the building and to each other. Even where they are spaced apart, the are still connected by the background cars. Very important!

WORKSHOP NEWS
I am conducting a workshop June 4-5, 2011 at the San Clemente Arts Supply Store in the southern California area. You can find more information about my workshop here. Signups are here.

In addition, I will begin watercolor instruction in May at the Graphaids Lyons Arts Supplies store in Long Beach, CA for those of you who are local and interested. For more information, go to my Schedule page or you can contact me through this blog.

2 thoughts on ““A cold morning”- street scene

  1. lesliepaints

    The first thing I thought was winter when I opened this, Frank, so you sold me on the cold before I even started reading.
    Wish I lived closer. Workshop sounds great! …and the teaching, too!

    1. frankeber Post author

      Hi Leslie, thanks for your comment. You know, I’ve been doing lots of demos lately! I am slowly getting my name out and starting to sell a bit more as well. It’s so hard.. but, it’s happening…my goal is to have ws around the country and in the south of France, eventually. You may remember that I’ve lived there for a few years, so I have pretty good connections. Thanks for your visit, Leslie!

Comments are closed.