More street scenes!

I am in the middle of my yellow taxi cab series. I am completely taken by yellow cabs and I can’t stop painting them, aahhhhh!!

These scenes are basically black and white, or more correctly, warm and cool greys with a few colors mixed in while still wet. If you imagine the first one, Yellow and red, Manhattan, without the cabs and the red umbrella, it’d be an incredibly dull painting!
01_yellow and red, 2011 by frankeber

Yellow and red, Manhattan, 2011 ::: Watercolor on paper ::: SOLD
Posted in the New York, USA gallery

It took me many tries to get the taxis right. They are basically cadmium yellow and orange applied with two washes, but I made sure they are connected to the streets by letting the yellow bleed into the grey underneath. This is very important, otherwise they would just look like somebody glued them on top.

Notice also that I am placing them so they are surrounded by blue-ish greys, in effect two complimentary colors, therefore achieving a nice contrast and making them jump out. Maybe that’s why I like those taxi scenes so much! Orange taxis on blue-ish roads! By the way, the orange doesn’t come out right on the screen. It’s just not the right color and not bright enough, no matter what I do….

yellow and red, 2011 by frankeber

My idea for the second one, The Commuter, initially was to have two guys chatting in the foreground, one guy sitting in the car. The way I painted him, or the way it came out, he looks like he’s opening the car door. So I went with that, like he’s just getting into his car early mornings. As long as there’s a story, I am happy with it!

the commuter, 2011 by frankeber

The Commuter, 2010 ::: Watercolor on paper ::: SOLD
Posted in the New York, USA gallery

I am also happy to mention that my blog was recognized and added to the “50 best blogs for watercolor artists” list.

Thanks for adding me to the list and Happy Painting!!!

CAUTIONARY NOTE: I was alerted by someone that my second link could be fraudulent. After all, that someone pointed out, the website has absolutely nothing to do with art or watercolor whatsoever, and creating lists sounds like a flattering way of getting popular bloggers to link to a website, and gain page visits, for nothing. Obviously this needs further investigating, so for the moment I have removed that link. I suggest that anyone else contacted by that website think about what they’re doing in good faith.

12 thoughts on “More street scenes!

  1. lesliepaints

    You totally pass on your desire to paint yellow taxis, Frank. These are so good! I so admire your economy and spontaneous brush work. As you know, I float the other way with watercolor. That said, it does not ruin my enjoyment of the span of styles that watercolor can embrace for an artist. Your people are VERY BELIEVABLE in the activity they promote. Movement, light and a story can always be found in what you do. Congratulations on your being listed in the 50 best watercolor blogs! More taxis, please. 🙂

    1. frankeber Post author

      Hahaha! Thanks, Leslie – there will be more taxis soon!! Yeah, getting the people right is quite the challenge. I do a lot of drawing, sitting down at night and just draw people, that helps! I know what you mean about wc, there’s so many possibilities..the best medium, ever!

  2. Karen Sioson

    Hi Frank, I’m hoping you’re still in your taxi fixation. These paintings are beautiful. And thank you for sharing the colors and methods. They do make a difference and add the oomph to the mood. For a floral painter, landscapes and cityscapes can seem daunting. I can use all the advice I can get.

    As for the list. Methinks the lady just made the mistake of putting it in a medical website. She probably meant well but would have done better if she had separated her two interests. I’m not sure but when I googled, she seems to be a well known medical illustrator, hence her interest in rendering and in the arts. Anyway, it would probably take longer for the issue to be resolved. Legit or not, you do deserve to be on the top list. Congratulations! 😀

    1. frankeber Post author

      What a great comment, Karen! Your opinion certainly carries a lot of weight, as I am pretty familiar with your floral work! I am happy you are getting something out of this blog, it makes it all worthwhile.
      Yeah, the list. Well, I thought about this for a while and it caused quite a stink on FB as well. I am pretty sure you saw how upset Chris Beck was about being on it. I really don’t know what to think, maybe the lady is ok. But I tend to agree with you, it should have been handled differently. As it is, it just looks too much like someone who likes to direct traffic to their site, using artists for their own agenda. Maybe I’m wrong. I hope so.
      Thanks again, Karen!

  3. Jan

    Beautiful watercolors , Frank.
    Again, well done!
    I also love the yellow taxis! Yellow, or more specific the warm yellow of your taxis is my favorite color.
    Enjoy the rest of your weekend.

    1. frankeber Post author

      I really appreciate your comment, Jan! I am glad you like my work; the warm yellow works so well next to the cool greys.
      thank you for your visit!

  4. Carol King

    Needless to say I am very drawn to these fantastic paintings. I would like to point out one error however. You can’t find a taxi in NYC when it’s raining.

    🙂

    Beautiful paintings. I echo the others…more taxis please.

    1. frankeber Post author

      Carol, thank you so much – you’re the expert, you live there! I already got more, but don’t know if I like them.
      I appreciate your visit and your comment!

  5. nick

    Great paintings, Frank, tough to beat watercolor for painting things that are wet. Actually my #1 criteria for a w/c is whether or not it still looks wet, to me the essence of the medium. which reminds me, I never got the concept of “watercolor pencil” …seems the ultimate oxymoron! heh

    1. frankeber Post author

      Yep, same goes for watercolor crayons??? I don’t get it. Thanks for your visit, Nick and I appreciate the awesome comment! Goes without saying that your opinion carries a lot of weight!

Comments are closed.