Long Beach street scenes

Downtown Long Beach is pretty nice. There are many interesting buildings with great shapes, it is pedestrian friendly and has quite a few independently owned stores. All in all, a great place to find painting material. There is a high degree of mood in the city streets, especially with the sun lower in the sky. I hardly dare mentioning that this is January!
Long Beach glow, 2011 by frankeber

Long Beach Glow, 2011 ::: 18″ x 14″ : 45.7 cm x 35.6 cm
Posted in the California, USA gallery

I was trying to capture the shape of the buildings, without going into much detail. The goal was to get a feel of the place, do some studies and come back at different times of the day. It is amazing how different a place feels when you go there morning vs. afternoon! There is a clock tower there I would really like to paint, bustling city streets underneath. I wasn’t able to find a good view point and got tired from all the walking. There is always a next time!
Long Beach glow, 2011 by frankeber

Ocean Boulevard, 2011 ::: 15″ x 12″ : 38.1 cm x 30.5 cm
Posted in the California, USA gallery

Painting these was a lot of fun. The backdrop of buildings was done wet-in wet, dropping different pigments in and letting it do its thing. Sometimes I change the angle of my board or tilt it left and right to achieve a certain effect. I particularly like the intense glow in the second one, right hand side. It is just a mix of yellow and orange and pops so well because there are blue tones underneath and next to it! The figures are important, but not overly so. I didn’t spend much time on the cars on the right and I think I like that. The cars on the lefthand side feel almost a bit overworked, I wish I would have given them the same treatment. Overall, I like where this is going, as I am getting more and more loose. I am really less and less interested in painting any sort of detail.

Stay tuned, more to come!

Availability : purchase : pricing ::: Contact me

14 thoughts on “Long Beach street scenes

  1. lesliepaints

    Tremendously warm contrast to the previous post of New York in winter! 🙂 Love that top painting. I think it is because the shapes of the buildings in the background are so interesting. I also like the figures seemingly stopping to look at you or something! in that one. My eye is dazzled!

    1. frankeber Post author

      Hi Leslie,
      You got it – the building were exactly what attracted me to this scene. The figures, well, they work but I need to do something so they don’t all look like Valets or business people hahahaha thanks for your nice comment, Leslie!!

  2. agus

    Hello Frank !!!!
    your watercolors are very good, free and harmonious lines. in more detail would no longer be as fresh and direct … amazing colors where I live, we can not dream about them … I call the attention of palm trees, create vertical ordering the composition are fantastic … a greeting!!

  3. Marian Fortunati

    Wonderful work, Frank, and I wouldn’t have come to your site despite your wonderful work because I didn’t know about you.

    So how DO you expand the base of your potential clients without newsletters. I see you have a blog… AND as everyone else has said…. WONDERFUL art!!

    I guess that’s a fine way to go… especially if it’s working!

    1. frankeber Post author

      Hi Marian, thanks for your visit. I am really the wrong guy to ask, I really have no idea how to market myself better. The blog gets my name out, so that’s good. We just have to keep going and hope for the best!
      Thanks for your nice words about my art.

  4. Carol King

    Frank, like Leslie said, a wonderful contrast to your winter snowy NYC scene.

    I have been looking at both of your paintings on this post and the most striking thing to me is the looseness of your work and your wonderful ability to allow the viewer to fill in the details. I love the white highlights on the cars and the shapes of the buildings.

    I agree that orange glow on the right side of the bottom painting is wonderful.

    1. frankeber Post author

      Carol, what a great comment! I feel like I am just getting where I want to go…no, I think I am not quite there yet. But it’s coming, I just need to be persistent. Thanks for the feedback, it’s good to hear you actually like it! Thanks for visiting, as always!

  5. Jan

    Frank, these watercolors of yours are so beautiful and striking – I really enjoy looking at them and then coming back to look again. I agree with you about the intense glow in the second one. I am not touching the dial – I am waiting for the more you are talking about!

    1. frankeber Post author

      Jan, thanks so much – i’ll try to post more. Feels good to know somebody actually likes my stuff. I appreciate your comment a lot!

  6. Debbie Lewis

    What a treat to run into your paintings — in fact, the first of the Long Beach paintings was apparently done from a vantage point of being directly in front of the building where I live! What fun to see this and recognize the scene that was your inspiration. Makes me want to get back into my Long Beach series… a few of which are on my website. You did a beautiful job with these!

    1. frankeber Post author

      What a fun comment! Hard to believe that I picked a vantage point close to your place. Next time I am down there painting, I’ll knock on your door, Debbie 🙂

Comments are closed.