Victorian splendor, San Pedro

Victorian splendor, San Pedro by frank eber

I am out searching for beauty in California and I have to say, I am finding plenty of it. I took the drive around the Palos Verdes Peninsula and came across this row of houses, situated right across the rocky coastline. What a perfect subject for a painting! The Victorians, the palm trees, and the amazing late afternoon glow! As luck would have it, the coastal fog stopped just right behind this scene and didn’t move in while I was there.

I like how it came out. I was able to capture the far house with the truck and the suggestion of figures all in one wash. I didn’t really paint the truck but it is there. This is exactly what I am trying to achieve in all my work. To quote my favorite painter and teacher Joseph Zbukvic, “Indicate, don’t state!”  Ultimately, I’d like for the viewer to fill in whatever detail they want to see.

I am going to do a series on downtown Los Angeles next. The subject matter there is endless! I have to plan my attack, find out where to park and the best time to go etc.

10 thoughts on “Victorian splendor, San Pedro

  1. CarolKing

    Frank, this is really beautiful. I like that you want the viewer to fill in some details. I also like your teacher’s “indicate, don’t state” advice. How long did this take you to paint?

    1. frankeber Post author

      Two hours, all in all, Carol. I was very much afraid the fog would move in and change the light. I think I work better when I am under pressure, although I don’t like it much. Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment!

Comments are closed.