St. Mark’s Plaza

St. Mark's plaza by frank eberThis was one of those lucky shots! I definitely got my tones and values right without fiddling around too much. I am no longer in Venice, but all my work is based on sketches I did on location there. This piece was done with a very limited palette, mostly just ultrablue, magenta and the siennas. I tried to capture the energy of the place, the complete chaos: people moving about, street vendors, some pigeons. Speaking of pigeons: they seem to have gotten rid of lots of them.I remember being in Venice when I was a kid, there were so many pigeons everywhere you could hardly get away from them.

In the background you can see San Giorgio Maggiore,  a 16th century Benedictine church on the island of the same name.

It is true that there is a special light in Venice. It’s very soft and milky, perfect for watercolor! It was great fun to visit, I just wish I’d have had more time. I guess I’ll just have to come back again soon…

11 thoughts on “St. Mark’s Plaza

  1. lesliepaints

    What a wonderful crowd of people, Frank, complete with shadows that accentuate the bright sunlight. Love all that color; and the lamp posts.

      1. lesliepaints

        I keep coming back to this piece and looking at it sensing something I could learn and finally noticed what kept drawing me back. I also like that band of gold or yellow on the one arch. It pushes me through the crowd of people I like to the lamp post which re-directs me back. Cool!

      2. frankeber Post author

        Wow, interesting observation Leslie! You know, I really don’t know why I put that band of yellow ochre on the arch. I consider that one a happy accident because somehow it seems to work or do something to the painting. Your comments are very helpful for me. Thank you!

  2. Janet Flom

    Congrats, congrats! Well-deserved! Really captured San Marco’s sunny/misty thing — how it can be sunny but moist at the same time? Nice mix of delicacy and larger forms, all laid down with a sure hand.

    1. frankeber Post author

      Hi Jan, good to see you here – thank you for your nice comment! Hope you’re doing well. What you said is so true, San Marco being sunny and misty at the same time!

Comments are closed.